Guides and tutorials

Register and manage customers

Here, we’ll introduce you to the concept of a customer on the Bud platform. When we refer to a customer, we’re talking about the end-user of Bud’s technology, as opposed to you as a client.

All customer data stored on the Bud platform is stored against a unique identifier. Some examples of the type of data that can be stored against a customer record include:

  • account information (accounts, balances, and transactions) that a customer has pulled through one of Bud’s Aggregation services;

  • their rent profile if using Bud’s Rent Recognition service; and

  • enrichments and insights that have been applied to, or pulled from, a customer’s financial data.

Each customer record is stored encrypted with an encryption key that is held only by you as the client (and never by Bud)

 

A customer record can be simply created and deleted via the Customers API. The Overview tab within the developer console allows you to view the number of customers that you have registered against your account. In the sandbox environment, you can create as manage customers as you like, free of charge, note however, that the sandbox only permits the use of dummy data. On production, the number of registered customers will correspond to the amount that you will be billed on a monthly basis to license Bud’s software.

Register a customer

A customer is registered on the Bud platform via the Create customer endpoint by requesting a unique customer_id and customer_secret. The customer_id is used as a unique identifier for that customer and is required in all API endpoints that relate to a given customer. Similarly, for API endpoints that return any customer data, the customer_secret is also required in order to decrypt and return that data. Please note that the customer_secret is never stored by Bud, and as a result, customer data is completely inaccessible by Bud.

Once you have registered a customer or two, please store the customer_id and customer_secret securely as this is the only time at which you will receive the customer_secret.

Removing a customer

Removing (or de-registering) a customer will involve the complete deletion of all data stored against that customer record. This can be simply achieved through the use of the DELETE /v1/customers/{customer_id} endpoint.

Looking for more?

Get in touch with one of the team

Get started

Market coverage

All of our connections for account aggregation and payments

Get started

API Docs

Take a look at the resources available for our APIs.

API Docs